I am an adult Bearded Vulture

Bearded Vulture Colouring In Picture
Bearded Vulture Colouring In Picture

My scientific name is Gypaetus barbatus

What I look like
I am a large vulture, and unlike most vultures, I have a feathered head. As an adult, I have a buff-yellow body and light-colored head, with a black eye-mask and moustache.  My eye is yellow and I have a red eye ring. I sometimes rub iron-rich mud over my chin, breast and leg feathers, giving these areas a rust-coloured appearance. My feet are dark. My feathers are greyish black on my back, wings, and tail.

Where I live
I prefer rugged high mountains with numerous cliffs and gorges. I am found in eleven African countries including, Algeria, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Morocco, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda. I am occasionally reported in Djibouti, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Somalia, and Zimbabwe.

What I eat
Like other vultures, I scavenge food from the carcasses of dead animals. Unlike other vultures, however, most of what I eat is bones, including bone marrow.

Fun Fact
I am known to drop large bones while flying to break them into smaller, more eatable pieces. I also drop live tortoises to crack them open before eating them.

My Conservation Status
Although I am considered to be a species of Least Concern, my limited distribution and ongoing population declines makes me vulnerable as well.

Leave a Reply

