I am an adult Cape Vulture

Cape Vulture Colouring In Picture
Cape Vulture Colouring In Picture

My scientific name is Gyps coprotheres

What I look like
I am a large vulture with a near-featherless head and neck. I am creamy-buff as an adult, with dark wing and tail feathers, and a pale buff neck-ruff. I have a yellowish eye, black bill, bluish throat and facial skin, and a dark neck. I am generally darker and more streaked when young, with brown to orange eyes, and a reddish neck.

Where I live
I nest on ledges on cliffs and usually lay one egg per year. I am found in five African countries including, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. I also have been reported in Angola, the Democratic Republic of Congo, and Zambia. I have been extirpated from Namibia and Swaziland.

What I eat
I feed on carcasses of medium to large animals, mostly mammals from the size of Thompson gazelles (30-40kg) and larger.

Fun Fact
I breed farther south than any other African Vulture.

My Conservation Status
I am considered to be Vulnerable because I have a small population that appears to be declining. I am threatened by electrocution by power-lines, collisions with power-lines and vehicles, unintentional poisoning, food-stress during chick-rearing, direct persecution including killing for use in traditional medicines, and disturbance at colonies.

Leave a Reply

