I am an adult Cinereous Vulture

Cinereous Vulture Colouring In Picture
Cinereous Vulture Colouring In Picture

My scientific name is Aegypius monachus

What I look like
I am the largest African Vulture. As an adult I have a large grey bill, with a blue cere and gape. My head is covered with dark-brown feathers. Parts of my head and neck are naked. My bare parts are bluish grey. My eye is golden brown. My feet are pale yellow. I have broad wings and a short, slightly wedge-shaped tail. Overall, I have a dark-brown plumage.

Where I live
I am found in forested areas in hills and mountains, and also in scrub and grasslands. I nest in trees or on rocks, often near other vultures in loose colonies. I am found in Sudan. I am occasionally reported in Egypt, Morocco, and Tunisia.

What I eat
I look for food over many kinds of open terrain, including semi-forested areas, in mountains, and in expansive grasslands. My diet consists mainly of the carcasses of medium-sized and large mammals. I occasionally prey on snakes and insects.

Fun Fact
I am more migratory than most people think. Individuals of my species that breed in Mongolia, for example, migrate all the way to Korea in the winter.

My Conservation status
I am considered to be Near Threatened. I have a small population which continues to decline due to both poisoned bait put out to kill dogs and other predators, and to higher hygiene standards that reduce the amount of carrion available.

Leave a Reply

