I am an adult Egyptian Vulture

Egyptian Vulture Colouring In Picture
Egyptian Vulture Colouring In Picture

My scientific name is Neophron percnopterus

What I look like
I am a small- to medium-sized vulture. As an adult my plumage is white, with some black feathers in the wings and tail. Because I often walk around large carcasses in dusty areas while waiting for my turn to feed on them, my bright white feathers are often dirty and brownish. My bare facial skin, which is yellow, turns orange during nesting periods. My tail is diamond-shaped, which makes me somewhat easy to identify in flight.

Where I live
I nest on cliffs and other rocky outcrops in lowlands and open country. I am found in thirty-three African countries including, Algeria, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, and Zimbabwe. I am occasionally reported in Botswana, Congo, Lesotho, Mozambique, and Togo.

What I eat
I feed on animal carcasses, rotten fruits, and snails. On rare occasions I catch and eat live prey.

Fun Fact
I am a tool user. I break and eat the eggs of large birds like the Ostrich by picking up stones in my beak and throwing them at the eggs to crack them open.

My Conservation Status
I am currently considered to be Endangered. Major threats to my populations include unintentional poisoning, human disturbance, a decrease in food availability, overgrazing by livestock, power-line electrocution, and shooting at ostrich farms in South Africa.

Leave a Reply

