I am an adult Griffon Vulture

Griffon Vulture Colouring In Picture
Griffon Vulture Colouring In Picture

My scientific name is Gyps fulvus

What I look like
I am a large vulture with very broad wings and short tail feathers. As an adult my head and neck are covered in dense white down, except for a small naked area near the base of the neck. I have a pale yellow bill, lined with black along the cutting edges. I have a black cere. The skin of my face and neck is blueish, my eyes are a brownish yellow. I have a white neck ruff. My feet are black. My buff-colored body and wing coverts contrast with my dark flight feathers.

Where I live
I lay one egg per year or at a time, and nest on cliffs in small to large colonies. I am found in mountains in ten African countries, Algeria, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Senegal, Sudan, and Tunisia. I am occassionally reported in Djibouti, Kenya, Libya, Niger, Togo, and Western Sahara.

What I eat
Like other vultures I am a scavenger, and feed mostly on dead animals that I find by soaring over open areas, often in flocks. I feed both outside of and inside the body cavities of large carcasses on the muscle, organs, and intestines of animals.

Fun Fact
I live in Europe and Asia as well as in Africa.

My Conservation Status
I am a species of Least Concern. I have a large range and population. I do however face problems, including land-use change and poisoning.

Leave a Reply

