I am an adult Hooded Vulture

Hooded Vulture Colouring In Picture
Hooded Vulture Colouring In Picture

My scientific name is Necrosyrtes monachus

What I look like
I am smaller than other African vultures. As an adult I have a mostly featherless,
pink head and a greyish, overlapping hood. I have uniformly dark-brown body plumage with darker flight feathers. I have whitish patches on the sides of my crop and on my thighs. I have large, dark-brown eyes, surrounded by blueish eyelids. My ear opening is encircled by short hair-like feathers. My crop when filled and exposed is buffy with black feathers on its upper margin. My feet are greenish-white. I have broad wings for soaring and relatively short tail feathers.

Where I live
I am widely distributed and in West Africa. I nest on trees and lay one egg each year.

I am found in thirty-eight African countries including, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, The Democratic Republic of Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda,
Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

What I eat
Decaying flesh from native animals and livestock is my main food. Sometimes I look for food in garbage dumps and marketplaces. I also feed on insects, including termites.

Fun Fact
I am a city bird in West Africa where I am common in towns and cities, but not in other parts of Africa, where I am more common in the field.

My Conservation Status
I have a wide distribution, and am currently listed as a species of Least Concern. Recent concerns regarding declining populations in many parts of Africa may change all of that.

Leave a Reply

