I am an adult Palm-Nut Vulture

Palm-Nut Vulture Colouring in Picture
Palm-Nut Vulture Colouring in Picture

My scientific name is Gypohierax angolensis

What I look like
I am said to be “unmistakable” in the field, in that as an adult I am largely white except
for black areas in my wings. I have a conspicuous red patch around my eye. In flight I am said to resemble an eagle more than a vulture.

Where I live
I breed in forests and savannahs, usually near water. I build my nest on palms, baobabs, and other tall trees. I lay one egg. I am quite approachable, and can be seen in and around human-dominated landscapes including hotel grounds and tourist areas in Gambia.

I am found in thirty-six African countries including, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. South Africa boasts the largest population of Palm-nut Vultures in the world.

What I eat
I get my name from my primary source of food, which is not meat, but the nut of the Oil Palm tree. I also feed on fishes, crabs, amphibians, small mammals, and reptiles, as well as on carrion like most vultures.

Fun Fact
I am the only bird of prey that regularly eats nuts.

My Conservation Status
I am considered to be a species of Least Concern. I am widely distributed and relatively abundant in many areas.

Leave a Reply

